Hardcover action My life is going to be condensed into two suitcases and two carry ons and some of my possessions will not survive this transition period and some have already perished.  Notable losses include 25% of my wardrobe, 95% of my old toys and random collectibles and the books are next.

Books are the hardest because I just happen to love the idea of books, owning them, thumbing through them and most importantly having a bookshelf crammed full of them.  A bookless existence is one step too far into minimalism (something Danes are quite renowned for) and I’ll do my best to keep what I can and ship or store what I cannot.  My library will not go quietly into the night.

Titles that made the cut?  Buddha’s Brain, Our Endangered Values, Did Somebody Say Totalitarianism?, and The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.

The not so fortunate?  Every college text except for instructional Danish/Mandarin, every magazine, some collected works of Edgar Allen Poe (he won’t mind… he’s dead).

Now, does anyone know how much it costs to fly a bunch of boxes filled with books across a continent and an ocean?

Never mind… I don’t wanna know.

