“But Johann…” You say. “You’ve already showed us pictures of Strøget before”.

Yes.  I have.  This is kind of like a Baywatch rerun on the USA network that you haven’t seen before, you sit down and watch it just because its there… and you used to like Baywatch, right?  Back when it was on air?  Don’t lie to me.

I love the masses of bikes I see everywhere I turn.

Bike accommodations on the Metro, and light rail make it easy to commute from the suburbs and ride your bike where you need to go once in town.  Or if you are adventurous there will be bike lanes for you wherever you need to go, and right of way laws where the infrastructure hasn’t reached.

I like this kind of advertising... because it tells me that pedestrian traffic is high enough to warrant it... And I like pedestrian traffic.

Obviously there is some sampling bias in choosing the main walking street, but you’ll find this everywhere else as well.  Running across a band/venue combo I like is not something that should just happen on the internet through a targeted ad.  An environment should be reactive to the people in it, and the way information is disseminated to a car heavy city versus a pedestrian city is hugely different; namely more crass, brash, and simplified because no one stops to read at an intersection.  Thats not to say that flyer ads are more sophisticated but they are by their very nature different because of the information they have the ability to relay.

Your honor that hot dog stand was dressed provocatively! I say it brought that purchase on itself!

I love a city with towers and I love a city with verticality.  Copenhagen satisfies those two loves while being a medium-rise city (intermittent high-rises do not a high-rise city make) mostly because of the density and the multi purpose buildings staggered away from the sidewalks at appropriate distances.  The point of interaction between the pedestrian and the shops is the door, not a set of steps up or down or some barrier that visually separates them.  I would argue that cities could measure a drop in store walk-ins if they compared streets of similar pedestrian density with adjacent and seperated storefronts…

A random tangent, I apologize.  But I do wonder what it would take to transform a space from a car wasteland to something more pedestrian friendly whenever I find my mind wandering.  I blame years in the midwest.

Thats 4672 cyclists by 2:00 on a weekday... on that one street... just in that direction.

I’ll leave you with this.  I have immeasurably enjoyed taking up your precious time and hope that you will let me do so again soon.

Till next time,

-Johann

