I haven’t written for a while. I get distracted, I get discouraged, and I get disinterested in all but the most attention grabbing tasks.  How much do you put off and for how long before your neglected tasks drag you kicking and screaming back to a state of focus.  Too long and too much.

A loss of something that once gave you stability gives some focus and a burst of clarity for what needs to be done; an enviable reaction.

But the envy is misplaced because it never addresses the idea of underlying motivation which is supposed to be intrinsic and not extrinsic.

“You just have to start; starting is half the battle!”

“You’re just in a rut. Snap out of it!”

“I know you’re talented, so don’t squander it!”

“Maybe this just isn’t for you.”

No, it is. I know it is for me. I know i’ll stop and start again a hundred times and I know the dfinition of insanity would call that textbook.  But if there is one thing I know about textbooks it’s that they change versions every year and cost too much for me to consider their contents.

I can’t promise consistency in this blog, I won’t even promise quality, or good content.  I’ll just promise insanity.

Trying the same thing over and over expecting a different result.

Yeah, I can do that.

